Badges?!?!

I’ve been participating in online fora since 1984. Participation needn’t be gamified for me, and as a matter of fact, I wish it weren’t. At the least it would be nice to be able to disable notifications for badges. I don’t need no stinking badges. :runner::trophy::syringe:

They can be disabled, but they are a useful learning aid.

How about if your post gets likes from more than 50% of the total number of people here then we can turn it off, otherwise can we assume that most folks don’t care or like them.

Fair enough?

1 Like

@jj.kidder

Congratulations! You have just unlocked the Get Off My Lawn badge. Please accept this complimentary gift of a bona fide 19th-century alarm clock and a pair of limited edition bakelite-frame reading glasses.

:alarm_clock: :eyeglasses:

On a more serious note, I have no strong feelings about the badges, so I could go either way.

4 Likes

Yeah, I get that it may seem petty. It’s just that my dopamine is in pretty short supply, so when I get a notification, and think it may be one of you fine people having taken notice of my driveling, and then it just turns out to be the forum telling me I used a feature (“Congratulations, you manipulated a pointing device near a graphic!”), I am very disappointed! It cause me wep! :cry:

Honestly, what that tells me is that I probably need to develop more of a life. I am somewhat geographically challenged in this regard, lamentably. :slight_smile:

Those beginner ones go by pretty fast – soon you won’t get nearly as many, if any at all. …but there are better ones that you probably would like. For instance, when many people take notice of your driveling and ‘like’ it, there is a badge for that too. :sparkles: