Best solution for backing tracks with ER301 (newbie questions)

Hello all!

I’m new to using theER301 and previously used this only as FX machine.
Now I’d like trying to use it as backing tracks machine for live performance.

WHAT I HAVE:
0) I have ER301, ADDAC 304 and SSSRlabs Wobla’s for gates and faders.

1. I prepared backing tracks. Each track has 4 stems. Each track has its own project

WHAT I WANT TO DO:

1. Play with backing tracks. Faders are for volume level, Gates are for play/pause/rewind. Use 1and2 channels linked for playing backing tracks.

WHAT I HAVE TRIED:

1. Link channel 1 and 2.
  2. Create a chain with four Mixer Channels.
  3. For simple playback I try:
  • Raw player (Has “Gate” button that works as rewind to start and play. Can’t find how to disable Autostart of sample and Pause button)
  • They same with Card player (Has “Reset” button which do the same plus I can configure position"). Can’t disable autostart and play/pause. I see rew and pause buttons on the small screen but can’t assign gate controls for it.
  • I can’t see this functionality in other players (Variable Speed, Clocked) too.
  1. I also want to assign fader on Mixer “input” control but don’t know how to do this. I can assign control (and fader) on pan but not on input.
    I try to use limiter after card player in the mixer chain but it can be not an optimal solution.

I understand that I have a lack of some basic practice experience of using ER301 and need some help

Thank you

If you assign a gate with a gain of 1 to the “Playback Speed” parameter so that pause=0 and play=1, that should give you the play/pause functionality you’re looking for.

I believe you should also be able to use the “Trig” input on the Variable Speed player to reset things to 0.

From doing a quick test, it looks like Card Player uses the least amount of CPU load.

2 Likes

this is not possible (yet?). you’ll have to insert a vca inside a mixer. i recommend @Joe’s