BPM Trigger

Hey all, ER-301 newbie here. I’m trying to set up a trigger for an external tap tempo based on some incoming audio. I have the audio going through a lowpass EQ module, then that’s fed into an envelope follower.

I’m not really sure where to go next. I know some units have triggers that can be fired at a certain threshold—setting that to an appropriate level on the envelope follower seems like the next logical step. Something involving an ADSR seems like the next step, but I haven’t quite figured it out yet. Any clues?

Are you trying to clock an external module’s tap tempo feature, or a process within the 301 somewhere?

The 301 does not have DC coupled outputs FYI… so you can’t properly send CV signals out of the module, only audio (realistically).

If it’s for something internal, You’d add a Tap Tempo Unit, and then assign the tap to your clock signal.

Neil

The former. That’s unfortunate to hear, I didn’t realize that, considering there’s an offset unit, etc. I’m building a compact setup and was hoping to replace some signal generation units with an ER-301, in addition to doing some sound processing. Looks like I need to go back to the drawing board…

Ahh I can imagine your disappointment over this misunderstanding… I didn’t answer because I was trying to work out what you meant, but Neil worked it out, I didn’t imagine you were thinking to route DC out as the outs are AC.

I hope this doesn’t break your dreams too much and I strongly encourage you to read this forum thoroughly to check out what is possible with this awesome module because disappointment should not be a word that is readily associated with it :slight_smile:

The CV signal generation is still there for internal use and the possibilities are staggering! It’s increasingly likely you can still do what you want anyway, or at least get close with a bit of imaginative thinking.

Perhaps start with the topics with the customunit tag in the menu at the top of the forum home page…