Confusion with 102 Group

Hi
I am new to 101/102 and probably should go much slower…and I may have a complete wrong understanding of the group section of 102

Here is what I try to do:

1. Create a track with 4 steps
  2. On group 1 select step 1 and use group modifiers low x to change CV-A
  3. On group 2 select step 1 and use group modifiers low x but change CV-A to another pitch

My understanding is that by changing the group between 1 and 2 I should be able
get the different modifiers… means the values i gave to CV-A should change, but this
is not the case…

it only works when:

1. Select Group 1
  2. invert, now the modifier changes to the invertet Group 1 Value
  3. Select Group 2
  4. press invert 2x, now the modifier changes to the invertet Group 2 Value

somehow i have the feeling that the Group is not “updating” when changing.
I only can see the change on the display but not hear it by CV-A
(when focus the group modifiers and changing between Group 1 and 2.)

Thanks for any help,
Pe

ok, i give up for now…just can’t get my head arround this.
Would be very nice if someone makes a video which shows the diffrent Groups (not only number 1) and how to use it.

its a mystery right now to me.

best, Pe

It sounds like the only thing that you are missing is the fact that group modifiers compose. A step can be a member of multiple groups. The final modification of the step will be the composition of all of the group modifiers in which it is a member.

So in your example, where step 1 is a member of group 1 and group 2, the final modification is:

modified_step_1 = G_2(G_1(original_step_1))

where G_n represents the (active) modification for group n. The G_n modification is itself a composition of the X, Y, and Z modifiers. The ability to overlap groups is crucial to getting the most out of the 3 mod channels (X, Y, and Z).