Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Could someone explain these ambient patches to me?

Hi,
Thank you for reading. I’m completely new to synths, literally know nothing and became interested after seeing/hearing some stuff posted on Instagram, and I was just wondering if anyone could possibly explain what’s going on in two patches posted there that utilize the ER-301, I tried sending the uploaders messages but I don’t think they saw them since we’re not following each other or however that works.

Link 1:

Link 2:

They are both very representative of the kind of modular sounds I’d like to create, meaning dense ambient soundscapes that in the first example are kind of like a pond with fish swimming around or something like that, lots of generative activity that kind of “flows together” and isn’t too super random like old school modular noise stuff, like the glitchy parts are kind of held together by a sort of gravitational pull that keeps everything in this subtle little rhythmic swing, almost like autotune but for the rhythm, like when your looking at a koi pond and the fish are kind of just going wherever in random directions but no matter what it looks nice because it all kind of flows together.