Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Dream Looper Setup

Hi all!
I’m quite new to the ER-301 but I feel that this unit has the potential to make all my processing dreams come true. I have the following looper in mind, maybe you can give me hints to start, or have already built something similar:

I want to be able to dial in a loop length in bars or clock beats, depending on an external clock signal (gate or trigger).
Two independent loopers record & play all the time. When I trigger a switch, the roles of the loopers are switched at the end of the loop. So let’s say I have looper 1 recording external audio and looper 2 playing, then I trigger the switch, and when the loops are at the end of the current loop, the first one plays what it just recorded, and the second one starts recording.

This is the basis of all my current ideas about looping.
By the way, I will feed acoustic piano in the loops and will alter the loops while playing. Some kind of inspirational feedback loop…

Any help would be appreciated!

Best,
Marc

I think you could have two independent loopers always overdubbing. do a sequential switch between signal and silence based on a gate into one and another sequential switch based on signal and silence controlled by an inversion of the others gate. I’m not entirely sure how you’d set this up in the er-301 but I’m pretty sure all those pieces are in there as built in units.

I think the idea is really cool. Also could be cool to add things after the loopers like panning/ping-pong delays

In a Feedback or Dub Looper, trigger the reset with an external clock signal, and then use a Counter to set the number of beats from the clock that you want to reset after. So like if you want a two measure loop, have the start value be 0, step 1, finish 7. Just make sure the looper’s buffer is long enough to cover all the possible loop lengths you think you might need.