ER-101/102 pitch quantisation?

Hi everyone,

I’m still very new to the ER-101/102 and in the middle of going through the manuals, watching videos and practising. My biggest open question right now is: How do I quantise pitch CVs to a musical scale?

If I didn’t miss anything the Math operation “Quantise” doesn’t help here, because it can only apply a fixed spacing in between notes. So if I want to quantise to a musical scale I need a specific user voltage table for that? Is there a place where I could download voltage tables for common musical scales?

However, using a scale voltage table would restrict me to this scale. It would be more flexible if I could apply random pitch operations and then switch between chromatic and “quantised to scale” on the fly (with Group modifiers).

Is that possible without an external 4 channel Quantiser?

Thanks!

Okay, I found the scales. Of course they are all in the Reference tables – just not all mentioned in the manual, that’s why I thought they’re not there.

The remaining question is: Is it possible to change voltage tables via Group modifiers? I guess the answer is “no” – so this would be a wish for a future update.

Those scales are not really part of the “official” package because I always considered them as user-contributed scales. So I’ve documented them on the SD card and included the python scripts that generate them. I hope I didn’t cause too much confusion. :bowing_man:

Have you considered putting multiple scales inside one voltage table?

Yes, thanks, I know about that, but I would consider it more as a workaround here. Selecting/swapping voltage tables via Group modifiers (Slope) would open up more spontaneous interactions with voltage tables, but I fully understand if this request is too specific.

No worries, it only caused minor confusion. :wink: