FFT Sprectral Stretch

Hey Everyone,

Atm i´m building me a Hyperglitch/Grain Instrument wich i can (hopefully after a lot of praticing) play with the 16n without using a sequenzer.
I prepae me some Buffers and scrupp thru them to create rythmic patterns and melodies.
So far so good. I really love the time out stretch Audio stuff and was wondering if its possible to use the FFT Spectral Stretch method inside the ER 301.
So i dont know how much cpu power needed to create something like that. Sadly im not a Coder or have the Time to get in to that deep chapter.
Found something in Supercollider → FFT Overview | SuperCollider 3.12.2 Help
I know it is different to the Er 301 language but so you have an idea what i mean.
Would be happy to get some informations or ideas how or if its possible to realize in the Er 301.
Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Looks like most implementations of this technique are variations of a phase vocoder algorithm - like PaulStretch/PaulXStretch or this Spectral Stretch device for Max for Live.

The author of that device published a paper describing some of his techniques to adapt the algorithm to a live setting here which he describes as “Stochastic Re-synthesis from a recorded sonogram” in his notes here.

nw2s wrote some notes about doing this in a DSP module as well, although it seems that never came to fruition. Finally, here is a very useful forum post that contains links to many modern implementations and their algorithmic underpinnings.

In short, it does seem very possible to do on the ER-301, but it would no doubt require careful selection of the algorithm and implementation details for real-time operation as well as the specific use cases desired, and finally for the performance constraints of the unit’s hardware.

2 Likes

Okay cool! Very interesting information. Maybe I will take that as a challenge to realize.