First gig with ER-301 tonight- constant crashes

Hey folks,
well I didn’t have a good time tonight with the ER-301. The gig went great, but every time I looked over at the 301 it had rebooted (I guess?) and was an empty patch. I’d reload the patch and play for a while and come back to the 301 and it would be empty again. A couple times at first it turned itself off (I guess?) and I had to turn the rack off and back on again.

I am brand new to the ER-301 so I’m not trying to blame the module or anything, but I do need to check a couple things:

I am using the latest (unstable) firmware.

I have the 301 in a Skiff that is powered by one of those Synthrotek DIY power supplies. I should have plenty of 12V. The 5V on the supply doesn’t work so I’m using the regulator switch on the ER-301 to power it from 12V.

The guy that I bought it from told me it needed 5V, but I saw the switch and so I’ve been using the regulator. Is that an issue?

Any other specific things I should be looking for to know why this would have happened? i don’t think that I’m using anything in my patch that requires the latest firmware, so if that is the issue I can probably g back to the stable version.

Thanks!

Please, Check out this thread and report back.

One low-hanging fruit: check that the power cable is tightly seated in the 301. For me, that socket is slightly less of a snug fit than I’d like, and can see it getting loose to the point of losing contact intermittently.

All good suggestions. :+1:

Although the (reported) ESD-induced reboots have been caused by touching the encoder. It sounds like @mbirame is not touching the ER-301 when it reboots.

Also this:

isn’t quantitative enough for me to not have doubts. I’d prefer actual numbers of capacity and usage.

The guy gave you incorrect information. Using the REG setting is the recommended setting.

http://wiki.orthogonaldevices.com/index.php/ER-301/Power_for_Revision_7