Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Getting Started with the ER-301 Middle Layer

I’m going to leave this as an unlisted YouTube video since I’m still finding my footing with the middle layer. I’m sure I probably messed up some terminology and blunder a little. Forgive me for that; I’m still learning. But I wanted to put something together for the community to help others get started with one of the biggest 0.3 features. I know it was a little overwhelming for me - just figuring out where to even start.

In this video, we go through creating a ring modulator effect unit in the middle layer, soup to nuts. It’s a long one. But, if you follow along you should end up with a working unit, a functional development environment, and hopefully some inspiration and confidence to get started with a middle layer project! :sunglasses:

Here are links to everything I think I referenced in the video that aren’t already in Brian’s main middle layer info post here on the forum.

21 Likes

I wish I had kept up with coding after GW, Q and Visual Basic in the early 90’s!

1 Like

I bet you’d be successful with this. LUA seems like a very friendly language, and you can use the copy/paste/tweak approach I used in this video - Brian has provided a lot of example code. For me, understanding the ER-301’s large (and growing) SDK will be the bigger challenge, I think.

Wish I’d kept up after Basic in the early 80’s!!! I can follow some kind of syntax there, but I’m realising it’s pretty much beyond me, without a significant amount of currently unavailble time spent on getting a handle on coding!

I can appreciate that. Guess I’m used to looking at and writing code, and a new language with a “friendly” syntax might be pretty relative. Well, I assume that eventually a lot of 3rd party units will get shared, so it’s still all upside. :wink:

1 Like