Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Grid Ops Base Controller for ER-301

This started in the controllers thread but I didn’t want to get too deep into one controller in a more general thread,so starting a new topic. This is my first attempt at creating a monome Teletype grid ops “base” controller for the ER-301. In a way, this Teletype script almost seems too simple to bother sharing, but I really wanted it to be more of a discussion starter.

The idea here is to keep it simple, and have a baseline scene to serve as a starting point for an ER-301 patch. And leave plenty of room in the scripts for further customization. IE - it doesn’t do anything super fancy.

This is built for grid 128. There are 6 faders in the top 6 rows with max range and precision. They correspond to SC.CV 1-6.

The bottom starts with 8 buttons for sending triggers on the fly: SC.TR 1-8. The next 4 buttons are latching and send SC.TR.TOG commands. SC.TR 9-12. Those are for turning VCAs on/off, engaging “punch” buttons on recorders, etc.

The remaining for buttons are for additional pages, with this being page 1, and the rest being blank. Finally, metro is sending a clock to SC.TR 100. The tempo in BPM is stored in Teletype T variable (so you can change tempo easily with grid integration mode). Or, more visually:

Here is the script. You can put it on the root of a usb and rename to ttXX.txt where XX is the number of the scene you want to recall it to. It will overwrite what’s stored in the Teletype’s memory for that scene.

er301 base controller.zip (466 Bytes)

So, what do you think of this? Are there some things you’d change? What and why? Would you have done something totally different? I’m sure we might all have some different prefs, and of course the beauty of this is that you can customize it the way you want. I’m just looking to gather ideas to maybe improve this.

Finally, here’s the script in text form for easy viewing

ER-301 BASE CONTROLLER
FIRST 6 ROWS F. FADERS CV 1-6