Interesting Scores

I love looking at scores. Here is a score that I received during a drumming (和太鼓) workshop recently. It is one way that Japanese drummers score traditional songs (especially those used for festivals aka 祭り):

The score is read from right to left, top to bottom. It uses phonetics to represent note duration and strike position on the drum. For example, カ (pronounced ka) is a rim strike, テン (pronounced ten) is kind of an 8th note, ツク (pronounced tsuku) is two 16th notes and so on. It is meant for learners to recite out loud while they are practicing the song for the first time. Typically, there is no well-defined meter (like 4/4) in Japanese drum ‘songs’. Hmm, ER-101? :smirk:

Do you have any scores that you like or find interesting?

10 Likes

As a visual artist I find the experimental scores especially fascinating. I have a pretty good collection of images which over some months I have posted to this thread on the “lines” forum.
I hope it’s ok to link here?

4 Likes

wild!

That is a wonderful collection @laborcamp! And totally welcome. Can’t wait to go through it slowly.

i love the lines thread, so many beautiful scores!
here are two more by johannes kreidler:

although not directly related, some examples of concrete or visual poetry have a musical quality which remind me of some abstract scores:

ernst jandl - erschaffung der eva (creation of eve), 1957

Guillaume Apollinaire - Il pleut (it rains), 1914

3 Likes

Great drum score, totally nothing like western drum notation. I really like volcalising patterns and having words for both rhythmic value and drum position is a first for me. When teaching (drum kit tuition is most of my week) I like to vocalise rhythms. Young kids take to using drinks and it’s funny for them and me as they stream back a series of drinks like a frantic bar order.