iTWOc, midi to i2c adapter

I have made a few multipurpose boards, that could work as simple midi to i2c adapter if anyone feels interested.

It features din midi in, trough 3.5mm connector (and out) 2 i2c ports trough 3.5mm connectors, an encoder and a display, i might just populate midi in an i2c connector for this purpose.

I have not populated them yet, but the design is from another board ive made that works.

I have a few to sell once populated and tested, that said i’m no expert in electronics or programming,
so this is a solution for those feeling desperate as i once did. Otherwise i suggest you wait for transit:
https://forum.orthogonaldevices.com/t/transit-midi-to-er-301-via-i2c
more info to come…
Aiming at around 50eu or lower

My prototype firmware sends two four voice poly channels that rotates trough the free voices prioritizing the first channel that was freed. To not cut off the decay/release envelopes. Then a lot of mono channels and cc’s(can’t remember how many, but it makes use of the 100 i2c channels of the 301)
Todo: add midi clock and start stop messages

4 Likes

Yup for sure, I’d be interested, all the other upcoming “solutions” are delayed or whatever so let’s make this pretty simple module happen!! :slight_smile:

I notice the usb port, would this have usb midi host capability? Also what microcontroller are you using? I have been working on my own modular electronics projects and have been thinking of wading into the ER-301 i2c stuff as well.

It’s using a samd21, like the arduino zero. I’m not certain about the USB host. I need to test before I can confirm. It should have host compability, but the arduino lib have some varnings about not being completely finished or compatible with everything. I just put connector on the pcb hoping it will work

1 Like

I would be really interested in a €50 module that would let me use lots of MIDI cc’s from my sequencer into the ER-301. If you need pre-orders to complete the project, I’m in !