Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Logic/Scanning/Modulation/Arp Sample Player....All Input Welcome:)

Hi there folks,

Hope you are doing well out there? So I am quite new to the ER-301 and have bought it as firstly love its interface and secondly love its power! To this end I bought it mainly to try and build a powerful sample player for percussion.

So basically I mostly use an arpeggiator for drum programming and nearly always work with 6 voices (Kick/Snare/Hats/Claps/Perc1/Perc2). What I am trying to do is basically build a drum sampler type of thing where I can by using modulation (LFOs, Envs, Rndm) move through a series of samples per voice e.g. a kick sample made up of say 20 different kick drums which play different kick drums every time the kick drum is triggered. Does that make sense? I wondered if anyone has tried this or this kind of thing?

What I envisage is a kick sample “reel” of 606/707/808/909 and custom samples on one long piece of audio which I can move freely between so that every time a kick drum is triggered it could be any of the samples. So lets say I was using an LFO to “scan” across my kick drum samples, how do I make sure that I am always at the beginning of a sample? of course with percussion being accurate in this sense is very important. Any thoughts on how to do this?