Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Mlr via ansible

I’m sure it can be recreated in many ways inside er-301 but what about grid/ansible/er301/mlr super combo?
I’m not a programmer so apologies if I sound naive :slight_smile:

Ansible is not an I2C master, so you’d need Teletype to make this work. A few people have made various versions to one degree or another.

Oh, heh, I suppose you could just use patch cables, rather than I2C. Perhaps Ansible’s Kria mode would work. When I tried this I used White Whale.

Thanks at the moment I’m trying to figure out how live sampling can be designed…:slight_smile:

mlr used an evenly divided grid for slices, so you’ll want the “Slice to Division” feature of the sample player, and then you’ll want to provide voltage corresponding to slice selection at each grid “step”. So, a bit of scale editing in Kria would get you there.

2 Likes

thanks, I’m not so bothered about the evenly divided slices but for the record input feature…

You’re probably looking for a looper.

The wiki has really improved lately, if you haven’t seen it.
http://wiki.orthogonaldevices.com/index.php/ER-301

1 Like

the grid+ansible+er-301 combo is one of the best things ever happened to my (sound) life :slight_smile: i’m using mainly the earthsea port with samplers and loopers.

2 Likes

I’d be interested in hearing more about what you know here. Ansible Earthsea + ER-301 is on my long list of stuff to look into but it seems like it’s going to be a mini project. (Ie figure out what earthsea is and how it works, figure out what’s different in the Ansible implementation, figure out the best way to use it with the ER-301, etc).

Earthsea is a grid app that plays v/oct note CV and gates. The grid is laid out in fourths (one row up is 5 semitones up).