Online platform for upcoming SDK

Although, the SDK is still a few months away from being available, I think it is a good time to start gathering opinions on how you would like its dissemination, community-resource management, issue tracking, documentation to be organized online.

This forum I believe can serve the discussion and Q&A needs of the SDK. However, we still need a platform for documentation (hopefully supporting community-sourcing). issue tracking, versioning. GitHub and Redmine have been considered, both of which I have never used in any substantial way.

What do you recommend?

Github is wonderful for versioning and even publishing of documentation.

I’m not an expert but I believe Github Issues are a fairly rudimentary issue tracking system compared to others. I don’t, however, know what missing sophistication might actually be helpful. I do observe fairly large projects running with Github as their issue tracker.

2 Likes

I use github a lot and the unix based git tool works very well for me. with github you can have sources or binies and can tag development at any point which is nice. I have been waiting for the SDK details and was the reason I hopped onto the ER-301, as I am versed in DSP coding in C and C++ but really wanted to be able to program my own eurorack hardware and have no clue about prototyping hardware. Anyway, thanks a bunch Brian, really looking forward to developing some open source units for this thing!

2 Likes

Another +1 for Github. It’s become the default ecosystem for developing and distributing open-source software, and the tools it provides have gotten progressively better and better over the years.

The issue tracker is a little quirky but effective… I’ve really grown to like it. You also get “for free” a wiki, a Kanban-like system for organizing tickets, a decent pull-request review system, etc etc. which you can use or ignore.