Problem understanding the dub looper

Hi all,

I feel like I am mostly past being a total beginner (making synths, pre record stuff to then play that back in a chain, mostly, so far), but one aspect I still struggle with is live recording/looping.

So I set out today to finally “get” the Dub Looper. I am mainly using Neil Parfitts guide #4. It’s for an outdated version, but I think I can string it together. I set my buffer to a new empty one, I set a trigger to reset it for every measure, I set engage(play) on and punch (record) on (with both set to ‘on’ behaviour). I set start = 0, Dub = 1, Wet = 1, Fade = 0.

I would now expect that when I play anything into the looper, it get recorded, and I will hear that recorded bit, repeated for every reset trigger, since I have dub to 1 and wet to 1. But still, I only hear my source, as if it was set to dry.

The only way I can hear anything of remote interest is if I crank the fade parameter up, and I get some sort of echoing behaviour that fades away. I cant get anything to stay 100% wet in the buffer.

Also, seeing Neil Parfitts old guide, he gets a transport guide, where he can see the recorded waveshape in the buffer. I can’t seem to locate this in the submenu for the looper. Is that gone now, or is it somewhere else? I think that could help me debug my issue.

Really hoping I missed something obvious here.

PS: I tried looking for some sort of newbie question mega thread, so if I missed something like that, please forgive me and point me in the right direction. :slight_smile:

For this, put the cursor over any parameter of the dub looper and press “Enter”, it will show the content of the buffer.

If the dub parameter is set to 1, the looper will replace 100% of the buffer with the incoming signal. With wet to 1 you will only hear the output of the buffer, which in this case is equal to its input.

See: ER-301/Dub Looper - O|D Wiki for a reference of all parameters.

6 Likes