Simple sound processor with modulation options

Hi, I’m a system development student from Sweden. This is my first post here and I couldn’t find
any similar post in the forum, but correct me if I’m wrong!

As we will need to make a project in the last year of this program I was thinking about making some kind of audio processor that accepts control voltage for modulation. The hardest part for me now is that I really don’t know where to get started. I don’t know which micro-computer to use as I really am new to micro-computers.
I would assume that this would be easiest to achieve by coding in C, or would Arduino work?

Hopefully you people could give me a few tips on where to start and what hardware would be suitable for this? :slight_smile:

This pretty much describes the ER-301!

So not entirely sure what you are asking here… if you would like to play around with creating something along similar lines then yes, Arduino is a great choice as all the really hard work is done for you and you just have to write your application.

If you have any further explanation then perhaps we can help more.

I’m sorry if I were unclear. But think of it like a really downscaled version of a ER-301, maybe more towards a PICO DSP from EricaSynths with modulation…
I think something like ER-301 would be way to hard to make under the period of a year.

I’d like the finished product to be able to provide reverb, delay and maybe some kind of integrated modulation source like a sample and hold and on top of that accept CV to modulate delay times and feedback etc. Would this be do-able?
This is whole new ground for me and this may be way to complicated to achieve but please feel free to pull me down to earth again.

Hello Simeon and welcome to the forum.

You will need some kind DIY embedded computing platform with lots of community support which has DC-coupled ADC capability and an audio DAC or PWM output.