Home | ER-101 | ER-102 | ER-301 | Wiki | Contact

Synthesis and Sound Design Techniques

custom-unit
tutorial

I had a request to make some videos focusing on the synthesis capabilities of the ER-301 (as opposed to the sampling capabilities). I’m not a pro sound designer or anything, but happy to share what I’ve picked up over the years and what I’m learning now. Hoping this will spark some discussion, and you’ll share your tips and discoveries too!

I thought a good format might be to explore a technique, and then use it to make a patch.

Edit: Updated the top post to contain a playlist of these videos for easier finding.

26 Likes

Discussion about a Synth Voices discussion

This is right up my alley as I am a relative newcomer to synthesis. I know the concepts but I’m still learning how to make the noises sound good.

2 Likes

Excellent Joe, thank you. Very informative indeed.

1 Like

This is an excellent insight to all sorts of stuff, not least the mute button, where is it. I patched out something in the rack today which was inspired by what you demonstrated. Tomorrow i’m Gonna try and create the same patch inside the 301 if I drop the frequency right down on the oscillator, is that a sub oscillator.

Thanks for that

1 Like

Hi Joe, great video thanks!

1 Like

Thanks so much for all the likes and comments here and on Youtube. Here’s the next one. This time, we feature oscillator hard sync on an arbitrary single cycle wave form from the AdventureKid library, and use it to create a rhythmic pad sound.

Below is the patch for you to experiment with. Actually, this custom unit is the first version that I created to prep for the video, so there are a couple small differences.

To get up and running, load this unit into a stereo chain and connect your gate and pitch signals to the custom controls.