Track::Pattern relationship

Guys, I’m a newbie here. Just wrapping my head around the paradigm.

How would you all describe the relationship between Tracks 1-4 and the available patterns. I assumed that a Pattern was a shell for the info on Tracks 1-4, but it doesn’t really work that way, yes? They are independent.

How do you think about them?

For me, tracks are the outputs, patterns are phrases or groups of steps, perhaps a verse or a chorus, a motif, an idea, a locked loop, a part of the whole that is all the patterns on the track.

I guess what I am trying to say is that you can kinda think about it however you like, it’s really open ended :slight_smile:

Right, but the difference for me is that each track or output can play it’s own pattern independently. So track 1 can be outputting it’s own Pattern 1 and Track 2 can at the same time be playing it’s own Pattern 2. Does that make sense?

Sure, I should have said this happens for each track :slight_smile:

I think you got it already by the sounds of things :slight_smile:

Thanks for your help!

I think I’ve just realised what you mean, in the Elektron stuff a pattern is a collection of tracks, when you switch a pattern, the data changes for every track, whereas a pattern on the ER-101 is a collection of notes for a track.

And yes, they are very different approaches for sure!

Quite a conceptual leap if you’ve never seen it done the other way before.

So what you are looking for is the Snapshots - those are like the Elektron Patterms :wink:

I’m pretty adept with the Monome universe, and this is even a different approach than any of those sequencers! But it’s cool, I’m liking it.

1 Like

This from Brian on the Muffs thread: